Looking Ahead

mintI know that there is still probably enough time to get a quick lettuce or spinach crop in, but it feels like the end of the season to me. Most likely, it’s because I am trying to fit in the monumental task of shuffling my garden beds to accomodate a new, smaller version of my garden for next year. I want to get the move done now, so in the spring, I can stroll blithely out to my garden and just plant away.

In light of that, I have been compiling a mental list of things I learned this year, and before they evaporate from my brain, I thought I’d get them down here:

Next year, I will:

  • put only one tomato in a tomato cage (ok…maybe two, but definitely NOT three)
  • plant only cherry tomatoes
  • grow ‘blue lake’ green beans again
  • remember to use legume innoculant on peas and green beans
  • thin early and brutally
  • put out wasp traps in May, and replenish them all summer
  • remember that squash, zuchini and pumpkin plants get huge
  • cut back the pumpkin plants when they even hint at exceeding their bounds (that is, if I grow them again)
  • try birdhouse gourds again

Next year, I won’t:

  • start anything from seed
  • plant corn
  • plant more than 3 zuchini or squash seeds
  • let the volunteer sunflowers grow in the middle of my (soon-to-be) strawberry bed
  • forget to harvest my herbs

Side note: just how late can you start lettuce, carrots and spinach seeds?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bluebarnfarmer on September 18, 2009 at 2:27 am

    I think it all depends on the germination rates and days till harvest on the seeds you’re planting… After that, it’s a gamble, right? But this heat we’re getting gives me a helluva bit of inspiration!

    Reply

  2. Posted by bluebarnfarmer on September 18, 2009 at 2:28 am

    Why only cherry tomatoes? No sauce-tomatoes? No romas?
    I’m a devout cherrier, too, but I’m just curious…maybe you could convince me to do likewise..

    Reply

    • Bluebarn,
      Cherry tomatoes are easy for me to eat as a snack or throw on a salad. Paste tomatoes never seem to actually get made into paste, despite my best intentions, and although I love romas too, they require slicing, which means I don’t always finish one, and there it sits in my veggie drawer…lonely and forgotten until it’s a disgusting mess.

      So long story short…I’m lazy. : )

      Reply

  3. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than
    that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read.

    I will certainly be back.

    Reply

  4. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It
    really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to offer one
    thing again and aid others such as you aided me.

    Reply

  5. I think this is among the most vital information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style is
    wonderful, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

    Reply

  6. We stumbled over here coming from a different web address
    and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page yet again.

    Reply

  7. The air hostess and flight steward are the first people to board an aircraft.
    Here are some of the most effective and popular bird deterrents.
    Sunday, September 28th ‘ Shangri-La II Speedway (100 laps).

    Reply

  8. I got this site from my friend who informed
    me regarding this web site and at the moment this time I am visiting
    this website and reading very informative content here.

    Reply

  9. Of course, the largest photograph displays that this interface is pace demon that you use to
    be part of the race in the game. After all, they have to welcome
    the passengers and prepare for food and other services for the passengers.
    Garden designs can be difficult at best, and magazines can supply gardeners with
    inspiration and ideas on what will look good
    and suit their area.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

