success and failure

As a first-timer with almost all of these veggies, I didn’t really know what to expect, and there have already been some hard lessons.  One thing that keeps coming at me from all directions, from gardeners who have been doing this for 40 years and from ones who have done it for 4 years, is that there is usually one thing that doesn’t do well.  And it never seems to be the same thing two years in a row.  And for every failed attempt, there is some wild, unexpected success that leaves you baffled and happy.

My success so far:

  • my raspberry and strawberry transplants all made it and are leafing out like crazy.  I have flowers on the strawberries too!
  • all of the frost bitten plants I picked up at the Ace nursery for free are thriving. brocolli, cauliflower, cucumbers.
  • my spinach grew into a crazy, green monster that I could barely keep up with. I have a big bag to take to my coworker tomorrow to exchange for some lettuce.

Which brings me to my failures:

  • most of my lettuce didn’t germinate and the stuff that did hasn’t really grown.  I am going to clear out the spot and try again.
  • only about 6 of my beets germinated. They are growing fine, but i would like to have more.  I will try again in the fall.
  • my peas did nothing…nothing.  They are all about 3-4 inches tall and have stopped there.  I think I am going to just pull them out and try something else.

As someone who hates to fail at things, it is reassuring that this happens to everyone and its not the end of the world.  I will try again next year!

sunflowers by the coop

sunflowers by the coop

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bluebarnfarmer on June 25, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    That is so cool that you’re trading vegetables. Home Economy engage!

    I’m wondering if you have anything you’d like to trade for some burgeoning tomato seedlings…

    Peas, BBF

    Reply

    • I went a little overboard with my tomatoes this year, so I don’t need anymore. Thanks for the offer though! You could post them on freecycle, there has been some great garden sharing on there already this year

      Reply

  2. I was sorely disappointed with my peas last year too. The legume innoculant I tried this year has made a HUGE difference. I’m guessing that’s what it was anyway…could be that whole garden roullette issue. Anyway, I picked it up on a whim…I think at ACE?? It recommended to use it on beans too. Just sprinkle it in your furrow when you plant the seeds. Maybe try that on your fall planting, if you’re doing one?

    Reply

    • gardenPatch- I picked up the innoculant this weekend. The guy at Ace said it would probably still help if I dug out little furrows around the base of each plan, poured some in and buried it. At $2.99, I figured it was worth a try. i put it around my beans and the two pea plants that are still doing okay. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

