Fifth Street Estates May 24, 2009

Now I have carrots, beets, radishes, lettuces, and peas planted, as well as some varieties of flowers.

I had a possible setback this week when my landlord set out the little tractor sprinklers to water the lawn.  One of the little tractors got off course and drove right into my lettuce patch. The water was blasting down on the lettuce and kale and I have no idea how much of myplanting is lost, if any at all. My nice neat rows may have been blasted to chaos!  So, in that respect, I may get a mixed green crop!

My raspberries and strawberries seem to be doing well with lots of new growth both in terms of new leaves an cane growth. Rhubarb, which has been growing in the same place for a million years, is growing up nicely and I will be eating some this week.

The garden still looks like a dirt patch, but I am seeing green things coming up.  This week I hope to be able to discern the difference between the weeds and crops.

Leave a Reply

