Fifth Street Estates May 11,2009

Ever since Dig Day I have been removing sod, grass rhizomes and other stuff from my garden space. I have put every cubic yard of soil through a soil screen and removed rocks bigger than a walnut. I found lots of worms which I treated with respect and care (they are my partners!). There were also a lot of brown beetles in the grass roots–they turned darker in the sun. I have some seeds started inside but nothing has sprouted which has discouraged me. I have raspberries and strawberries in and they are growing. Rhubarb, which has been around forever, is doing well. More stuff going in the ground this week.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Green Underbelly on May 12, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Dear 5th Streeter,
    Yer ambition is incredible. Soon I will help you at the estates and some better volunteer seedlings will git into ze loamy soil, hwah hwah. Thursday, right?

    Are any other gardeners having trouble with seed germination?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

