Creating a Space for Growth & Solitude

The amazing weekend of April 26th transformed my backyard from a green oasis to a thriving backyard farm. This newly created 300 sf area needed more than just dirt, horse manure and love, it needed its own space to grow (separate from the high energy dogs), and I needed my own solitude.

This solitude has been easily created, with the help of a very dear friend, by an amazing fence. This fence was made from reused materials of shower glass doors and old lumber. The opaque glass doors, taken out of their ugly hardware, were framed by the old lumber and adhered to fence posts. The gate, made of clear glass, gives the dogs a birds eye view of what they will be missing out on, while I work my green thumb magic.

While most gardeners have been focused on planting seeds, babying their newly sprouted plants and waiting for the right weather to transplant them, I have focused on creating a space for me to linger. So what happens now, I’m way behind on the planting or am I?

I will still plant some seeds (end of May), beans, snap peas, kale, chard, lettuce, squash, carrots, onions, garlic etc. However, I will aim my sights at the local farmers market for seedlings. The local farmers market is a great place to pick up the seedlings you need which leaves you time to create and make a space for that garden you’ve always wanted. There’s no reason to rush when you have the whole month of May to work out your space and visit the market for your seedling needs.

Interested in seeing this dear fence? 1000 Gardens and my dear fence will be hosted on homeWORDS’s sustainability tours, June 13th. Visit http://www.homeword.org for more information.

Leave a Reply

